What cha reading?

It’s the end of the school year, so things are hectic around here. I READ the first two books in Steifvaters Raven Cycle and I’ve been burning through Audible credits:
History of the World in Six Glasses Kitchen Confidental Echo in the Bone and Suttree are the most recent…

Also dabbled in some writing of my own, and I plan on getting back here regularly starting tomorrow 🙂

Happy Reading!

Going back to Cali…

Alright, book awards from California:

1. Commonwealth Book Awards

From their website:

Since 1931, the California Book Awards have honored the exceptional literary merit of California writers and publishers. Each year a select jury considers hundreds of books in search of the very best in literary achievement. Eligible books must be written while the author is a resident of California, and they must be published during the year under consideration.

Awards are presented in the categories of Fiction, Nonfiction, First Work of Fiction, Poetry, Californiana, Notable Contribution to Publishing, Juvenile Literature and Young Adult Literature.

– See more at: http://www.commonwealthclub.org/node/3032#sthash.xNGpkKez.dpuf

Books may be nominated by authors or publishers. There’s no fee to enter 🙂 and this is their description of the jury:

The Awards Jury is comprised of 12-15 California literary-minded professionals. The specific make-up is subject to change, but we are dedicated to a diverse range of views, backgrounds and literary experience. At The Commonwealth Club of California, we strive to have our Jury represent various cultural and aesthetic backgrounds and have the thorough knowledge of science and history necessary to deliberate the merits of all book entries. – See more at: http://www.commonwealthclub.org/events/special-events/california-book-awards/faq#sthash.MPKEU1S3.dpuf

2. Northern California Book Awards

(Formerly Bay Area Book Reviewers Association/BABRA)


NCBR/NORTHERN CALIFORNIA BOOK REVIEWERS, a volunteer group of book reviewers, book review editors, and others who read passionately and write about reading, have met regularly since 1981 to recommend and celebrate books by presenting annual book awards to northern California authors. [See the 2012 NCBA page for the complete list of the finalists and winners for books published in 2011.]


3.So Cal Independent Booksellers Assoc. Awards

Each year SCIBA awards books in the following categories; fiction, non fiction, mystery, art, architecture & photography, children’s novel and children’s picture book. SCIBA’s award recipients are the best in their category, loved by Southern California booksellers & represent the incredible literary talent in Southern California.

Nominations are now being accepted and must be received by July 15, 2013. SCIBA Bookstore employees vote first to select three finalists in each category and second to select a recipient.


Fiction, Nonfiction, T. Jefferson Mystery Award, children’s novel & children’s picture book:

  • Open to authors and illustrators of all publishers
  • Books must have been published between July 1, 2012 and June 30, 2013 preferably reflecting the Southern California culture or experience.
  • Author and/or Illustrator must reside within the SCIBA region (geographically from Morro Bay south to Mexican border, east to the Arizona / Nevada borders).
  • Nominations may be made by booksellers, publishers, authors and others in the bookselling industry.

Glenn Goldman Art, Architecture & Photography Award:Glenn had a love for and felt strongly about recognizing talent from all over the world.  Therefore, to honor Glenn, for this category the author / artist does not need to reside within the SCIBA region to be recognized and honored.

  • Open to authors / artists of all publishers
  • Books must have been published between July 1, 2012 and June 30, 2013
  • Nominations may be made by booksellers, publishers, authors and others in the bookselling industry.

To submit your nominations please click here including the following information:

Title, publisher, ISBN, publisher contact (email & phone number) and category 


4. California Young Reader Medal

What is CYRM?
The California Young Reader Medal (CYRM) program encourages recreational reading of popular literature among the young people of our state. Since its inception in 1974, millions of California children have nominated, read, and voted for the winners of the California Young Reader Medal.

Young people recommend the titles of their favorite books for nomination, or teachers and librarians note repeatedly read or requested titles, and these are submitted to the California Young Reader Medal Committee. Members of the committee read the suggested books, discuss their merits and appeal to children, and then decide upon a well-balanced list of nominees.

To be considered for nomination, a book must be an original work of fiction published within the last four years by a living author. Recommendations for nomination are due each year by April 1 for consideration as a nominee the following year. It is a two-year cycle from the time of nomination by students to the presentation of the California Young Reader medal to the winning authors and illustrators.

Books are nominated for the medal in five categories:

Primary (Grades K-3)
Intermediate (Grades 3-6)
Middle School/Junior High (Grades 6-9)
Young Adult (Grades 9-12)
Picture Books for Older Readers (4th Grade and up)

Students may read and vote for books in any and all categories, but they must read all the books nominated in a category to be eligible to vote. Students read the nominated books from July through March and vote for their favorite. Teachers and librarians introduce the nominees to students, often in exciting and innovative ways. They provide ballots for the students, compile vote totals, and submit results to the CYRM committee. All CYRM ballots submitted must be postmarked by April 1 of each year.