The Military, Military History, and History

For those of you who don’t know, Nov. 10 is a very important day.  In no particular order:

1. It is the day Sesame Street appeared for the first time.

2. It is also the day the USMC (Marine Corps) was created.

Later on we’ll deal with Sesame Street, but first, let’s talk Military. No matter what your opinions on the Military, Military History, or History in general, these topics are unavoidable AND can be very interesting. (yay history!) So, for the history buffs and those who swear that there is no way any of that can be interesting, here are two awards that should help find something worth reading.

Up first, we have the Society for Military History. This group is dedicated to the study and preservation of Military History in the United States. They award books published in the past 3 years in the following areas:

  • American Military History (works by single or multiple authors reflecting original research and original contributions to military history)
  • European or other Military History (works by single or multiple authors reflecting original research and original contributions to military history)
  • Reference Works
  • Biography and war memoirs

Click HERE for more information about the awards. This society also publishes the Journal of Military History and is a well-respected academic group. Judging for the books includes a panel of members. There is no fee for entry, and no requirements or paperwork. Just send a copy of the work in question to the published committee members.

Next up, we have the American Historical Association. This is THE place to be if you are an academian, student, or serious amateur historian. They have been around since the 1800’s and were incorporated by Congress. The book awards have been around since 1896, and have been presented to over 1,200 works. Judging is handled by the research division of the group. I like that they stated “members of prize committees should be historians who are likely to honor rigorous scholarship with which they disagree, and be appropriately critical of work with which they disagree.” Easier said than done in the world of academia my friends. Anyway, the awards can be given for books, film, OR exemplary teaching. Here are the categories:

Prizes for 2011

The Herbert Baxter Adams Prize (2011) European history from 1815 to the present

The George Louis Beer Prize (2011) in European international history since 1895

The Albert J. Beveridge Award (2011) in American history for a distinguished book on the history of the United States, Latin America, or Canada, from 1492 to the present

The James Henry Breasted Prize (2011) in any field of history prior to CE 1000

The Raymond J. Cunningham Prize (2011) for the best article published in a history department journal written by an undergraduate student.

The John H. Dunning Prize (2011) in United States history

The John K. Fairbank Prize in East Asian History (2011) for East Asian history

The Herbert Feis Award (2011) for distinguished contributions to public history over the past ten years

The Morris D. Forkosch Prize (2011) in the field of British, British Imperial, or British Commonwealth history since 1485

The Leo Gershoy Award (2011) in the fields of 17th- and 18th-century western European history

The Clarence H. Haring Prize (2011) for a Latin American who has published the most outstanding book in Latin American history during the preceding five years

The J. Franklin Jameson Award (2011) awarded biennially for outstanding achievement in the editing of historical sources

The Joan Kelly Memorial Prize in Women’s History (2011) for women’s history and/or feminist theory

The Martin A. Klein Prize in African History (2011) to recognize the most distinguished work of scholarship on African history published in English

The Waldo G. Leland Prize (2011) offered every five years for the most outstanding reference tool in the field of history

The Littleton-Griswold Prize (2011) in American law and society

The J. Russell Major Prize (2011) for the best work in English on any aspect of French history

The Helen & Howard R. Marraro Prize (2011) in Italian history

The George L. Mosse Prize (2011) in the intellectual and cultural history of Europe since the Renaissance

The John E. O’Connor Film Award (2011) to recognize outstanding interpretations of history through the medium of film or video

The James A. Rawley Prize in Atlantic History (2011) for historical writing that explores the integration of Atlantic worlds before the 20th century

The John F. Richards Prize (2011) recognizes the most distinguished work of scholarship on South Asian history published in English during the previous calendar year.

The Wesley-Logan Prize (2011) in African diaspora history

Prizes for 2012

The Paul Birdsall Prize (2012) offered biennially for a major work in European military and strategic history since 1870

The Albert B. Corey Prize (2012) for the best book dealing with the history of Canadian-American relations or the history of both countries

The Premio Del Rey (2012) for a distinguished book in English in the field of early Spanish history

The James Harvey Robinson Prize (2012) is awarded biennially for the teaching aid which has made the most outstanding contribution to the teaching and learning of history in any field for public or educational purposes

Click HERE for more information, or on each prize for a list of past winners.

Lastly, on a lighter note, we have the WY Boyd awards for Military Fiction. This is administered by the ALA (American Library Association) and winners get a $5,000 prize & a plaque.

Are you out there? Hello? Anyone? (Thanks for reading! )

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s