Thanksgiving

I probably won’t be posting again until Saturday, but I wanted to take a moment and ramble. First off, THANK YOU for reading, clicking, commenting, following, and liking this blog. I had no IDEA when I started this a few weeks ago how good it would be to spend a bit of time everyday thinking, researching, and writing. I look forward to it in a way I didn’t know I would. SO, even though I would keep doing it anyway, it’s really amazing to know that other people look at the blog too. 🙂 Thanks.

And, thank YOU to those bloggers out there who give me things to think about, projects to ooh and ahh over, books to add to my list, and a lot of entertainment.

Most of all though, I’m thankful that my family encouraged me to be reader, that I found this world of books, and that it continues to grow and expand with every new book published. They are ALL winners in my world, even if they don’t get an award. Reading is something I’ve found I CANNOT live successfully without.

In no particular order, here are some authors off the top of my head whose work has framed important parts of my life, what I remember reading during those moments of growth good and bad:

Robin McKinley, Anne McCaffrey, Sharon McCrumb, Diana Gabaldon, Stephen King, Margaret Mitchell, Patricia Cornwell, Louisa May Alcott, Andrew Lang, Mark Twain, William Faulkner, Laura Ingalls Wilder, L.M. Montgomery, Shakespeare, Kate Chopin, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Edith Wharton, Carolyn Keene. (I told you there was no particular order or reason, just folks whose books stuck with me for one reason or another). I’m sure there are more (Hello, my name is Shellie and I have a reading problem…), but it’s time to knead the rolls and clean the kitchen for company.

Does anyone else do that? I know some people do it with music (Oh, this song reminds me of this time….). I do it with books. Oh, the first time I read this, I was….I was reading this when you….I read this again when I….This book makes me miss you less/more…

What books have framed your life?

What are YOU thankful for?

Have a great Thanksgiving. I love that this is a Holiday we can ALL have in common, regardless of creed or background. Good stuff.  Hug the people you love, they matter. Read the books you love, they matter too.

3 Comments on “Thanksgiving”

  1. RillaWriter says:

    I just found The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley and devoured it. Wow.

    I link times in my life to books, too. For me it’s more like, “I felt older after this book” or “this book changed the way I think about (fill-in-the-blank).” Words are so powerful; they are gateways to life-changing concepts. I think that’s why books matter. Perhaps that’s why people throughout history have felt strongly enough to destroy written words. Conversely, I think that’s why it hurts to think of burning books.


Are you out there? Hello? Anyone? (Thanks for reading! )

