Asian American /Asian Book Awards

Just like the Hispanic Awards, this is a VERY diverse group with many cultures and traditions. Some of the awards are for multiple groups, some are very specific. Here we go!

1. The Kiriyama Prize is one I’ve already posted, but it is for any book covering the Pacific Rim Area.

2. The Bernard Schwartz Book Award is for non-fiction that contributes to the “understanding of Asia or Asia-US Relations.” Awarded by the Asia Society, to win a book must be nominated by the publisher, and selected by a jury of experts.

3. The Association for Asian Studies sponsors 11 Awards, ranging in focus from pre 1900-s China and Japan, to modern China, Japan, Korea, and South Asia. There are also awards for created curriculum and first books on Southern Asia.  AUTHORS are encouraged to submit their books to the various prize committees who then select a winner from the nominees. Publishers may also submit, but it is pointed out that the publisher doesn’t automatically do it, so the author should. 🙂

4. Scholastic Book Award– Sponsored by the Scholastic Publishing company I’m sure you remember from Elementary School and a Singapore publishing group, this award is to “recognise Asians and children’s writers of Asian origin who are taking the experiences of life, spirit and thinking in different parts of Asia to the world at large. The award would also promote the understanding of the Asian experience and its expression in innovative and creative forms.” (eta- I love the British spellings. s is so much more graceful than a z).  To enter the AUTHOR or TRANSLATOR must submit 6 copies to the judging panel. Interesting that the translator is included in the process. Translating is tricky and is an art all in its own. A bad translation can ruin just about anything.

5. the Man Asian Literary Prize is for adult fiction. It is sponsored by a financial investment firm, but other than sponsorship, Man  “Authors must be citizens of one of the following Asian countries or territories: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, India, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, North Korea, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand, The Hong Kong or Macau Special Administrative Regions, The Maldives, The People’s Republic of China, Tajikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Vietnam; “Citizen” in the case of the Hong Kong or Macau SAR may be taken to be permanent residency. ”  Children’s works, and self-published works are not accepted. Publishers apply for this one, and the winners are announced in a dual ceremony in London and Hong Kong. Works must be in English or Translated into English.

6. Asian American Writers Association presents awards to honor fiction, non-fiction, and poetry.  The author, agent, publisher, or publicist can enter the work by filling out the application and sending copies to the judging committee. Winners and honorees are named in each group.

7. The South Asia Outreach Network sponsors the South Asia Book Award. Publishers submit entries for works that :

The award will be given in recognition of a recently published work of fiction, non-fiction, poetry or folklore, from early childhood to secondary reading levels, published in the United States, Canada or United Kingdom, in English (translations into English will also be accepted) which accurately and skillfully portrays South Asia or South Asians in the diasporas, that is the experience of individuals living in South Asia, or of South Asians living in other parts of the world. The culture, people, or heritage of South Asia should be the primary focus of the story.

The countries and islands that make up South Asia are: Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Maldives, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and the region of Tibet. We will also consider stories that take place in the Caribbean Islands that focus on a South Asian subject.

In determining the award, books will be judged for: 1) quality of story; 2) cultural authenticity; and 3) potential for classroom use.

One winner and 5 honorees are named yearly.

There are more out there, but this is a good start. 🙂 Keep Reading, and dont forget the


Are you out there? Hello? Anyone? (Thanks for reading! )

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s