F Scott Fitzgerald Award

This award is given annually to “an outstanding American Writer.” The award is sponsored by the F. Scott Fitzgerald Literary Conference held at Montgomory College, Rockville, MD (The Fitzgeralds are buried here, and F. Scott has family ties to the area: Francis Scott Key, who he is named after, was a Baltimore Native who wrote the National Anthem). Sponsored by the college and town, the conference features literary workshops, including sessions led by that year’s honoree. Sessions are open to students age 14 and up, and to adults, and focus on the craft of writing. I couldn’t find any information about selection process, although the college’s literary magazine, The Potomac Review  seems to be involved. This is very much a lifetime achievement type award, NOT for a specific work.

Press release for this year’s winner  2011 Honoree: Maxine Hong Kingston
Past Award Winners
• 1996: William Styron
• 1997: John Barth
• 1998: Joyce Carol Oates
• 1999: E. L. Doctorow
• 2000: Norman Mailer
• 2001: Ernest J. Gaines
• 2002: John Updike
• 2003: Edward Albee
• 2004: Grace Paley
• 2005: Pat Conroy
• 2006: Jane Smiley
• 2007: William Kennedy
• 2008: Elmore Leonard
• 2009: Julia Alvarez
• 2010: Alice McDermott

One Comment on “F Scott Fitzgerald Award”

  1. My Homepage says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More Infos here: booktopiareviews.wordpress.com/2011/12/12/f-scott-fitzgerald-award/ […]…

Are you out there? Hello? Anyone? (Thanks for reading! )

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s