L M Montgomery

Hello again! I apologize, but as a Christmas present to myself and my little family, I “unplugged” for the holidays. Surprisingly, I found I missed this little opportunity to write more than I expected, so I’m really excited about getting back into the swing of things. 🙂

 

As promised, the next author is the incredible LM Montgomery. Lucy Maud Montogomery was born at the end of the 1800’s on Prince Edward Island, Canada. Orphaned at 21 mo., she was raised by her grandparents. (yes, this does sound like Anne…keep reading, there’s more). She attended college on the mainland, and was briefly at teacher (yep, echoes of Anne) before marrying a Presbyterian clergyman and becoming a full-time housewife/author. She is best known for her Anne of Green Gables series which has been turned into several film, stage, and screen adaptations. She has several other lesser known books and characters, notably the Emily of New Moon books,  and Jane of Lantern Hill. (Link is to Gutenberg press). In total, there are over 20 novels and hundreds of short stories that she published.

While enjoying considerable success as an author during her lifetime, LMM was plagued by depression, a strained marriage (hubby also struggled with mental illness) and bad professional timing. At the end of WWI, her happy, optimistic tales became less favored and she was criticized for being too “happy.” I, for one, am glad she stayed true to her stories. 🙂 Anne and Emily were good friends of mine at one point. Interestingly, she never felt she had written her “one great novel.” Wow. Again, no major literary awards for LMM, but she WAS granted the Order of the British Empire & inducted into the Royal Academy of the Arts in 1935, which is pretty big stuff.

I also thought it was interesting that she didn’t set out to write her novels as children’s novels. I think many times the best children’s/YA lit is written like this. If not, there’s a tendency to gloss over things or “dumb it down” for the audience. JMHO.

2 Comments on “L M Montgomery”

  1. Danielle says:

    I loved reading the Anne of Green Gables series as a child. I have all of the books and I am planning to give them to my 8-year-old niece. I think she might be a little young just now, but she loves to read and I think when she’s a bit older she’ll really appreciate them!


Are you out there? Hello? Anyone? (Thanks for reading! )

