Why fully-grown folks revisit those YA books….

I’m taking a second to answer the question of the day from over at Should Be Reading.

This week’s musing asks…

Why do you think that the Young Adult genre is so popular with even the adult readers? Do you read YA books, yourself?

I love YA books. I enjoy the growth that so many of the characters go through. I enjoy the moments of decision that lead to that growth. Even in the ever-popular dystopian YA novels, the characters go through a maturation and growth that many “adult” books don’t include. There’s also the ADVENTURE / Anti-Authority aspect that just goes w/ YA lit. Too many times it comes off as angry or corny in the “adult” fiction world.  And, let’s face it. Teenagers are funny. (Overheard in the cafeteria today, with no sense of irony: “dude, I AM a badass.” Spoken by a very skinny, spectacled, non-badass.)  Their situations and crises are different from mine as a married mom w/ 2 jobs and in school. It’s a nice escape.  My last reason has to do with the fact that I love Fantasy, Sci-Fi, and Mystery. YA authors do this stuff really well.

For some awards for YA lit, click HERE or HERE.  If you’re a genre fiction fan, many of those awards have a YA category.

5 Comments on “Why fully-grown folks revisit those YA books….”

  1. Good point about the rebel thing. YA is where there is belief in breaking the norm, I suppose. That is fun when it’s pulled off right.
    http://www.burgandyice.blogspot.com/2012/01/musings-and-readathon.html

    • by the time we’re adults, breaking the norm & rebelling is either going to tear apart others’ lives, or just be way too scary-not a light read. YA has much “easier” rebellion in hindsight. Although, as a YA, it was all too real. I remember putting books down b/c I was too embarrassed/sad/afraid FOR the character, depending on the situation. I’d go do something else for a few hours, and then go back.

  2. Geoff W says:

    This seems to be a tetchy subject! I recently read another blog post about how Young Adult isn’t a genre and it was interesting. I agreed mostly with it, but young adult novels do have a certain something that groups them together. I would say coming-of-age, but I’ve realized over the past year of blogging about the books I read that that subject is explored across all genres of fiction.

    Who knows – if I can find the link to the other blog I’ll come back and post it.

    (I love YA fiction – they’re great pallet cleansers between those long heavy tomes I put myself through occasionally.)

    • That would be really interesting to read…I tend to still group YA by their traditional genre in my mind: Sci-fi, literary fiction, etc. They just happen to be about teens and come from a slightly different (hormonal? lol) angle. I also think some of the books labeled YA just b/c they are about a teen aren’t really YA and resonate more w/ an adult audience.


Are you out there? Hello? Anyone? (Thanks for reading! )

