Friday Fun Day

so…I almost overslept this morning because I was CONVINCED it was Saturday. Even reminded DH of an appointment we have on SATURDAY. one of those mornings. Anyway, before we get started on today’s awards, I thought I’d take a minute and say that one of my FAVORITE authors ever has been nominated for an Edgar. Congrats to Diana Gabaldon. 🙂

The awards for today are…..for humor writing. Think about it. It’s hard to tell a joke face to face. To convey humor in WRITTEN FORM is an often overlooked skill. And apparently un-rewarded. Here’s what I could find. If you know of more, shout out in the comments.

1. The does monthly & bi-monthly contests on prompts. For anyone brave enough to enter, click HERE.

2. Erma Bombeck award.

The Erma Bombeck Writing Competition is hosted every two years by the University of Dayton and the Washington Centerville Public Library in Centerville, Ohio, where Erma wrote the books and columns that launched her national fame.

The 2012 competition will open in January. More information and a list of past winners is available at the website of the Washington Centerville Public Library:

3. The Thurber Prize This is a juried contest which selects 3 finalists and one winner every year. A list of past winners is, of course , on their website.  Here are the how to’s:

Eligible books are those that are published in book form, whether as a hardcover or as an original paperback, in the United States. Fiction, nonfiction, and collections of short stories are eligible. Collaborations by writing teams are acceptable. Reprints of books published outside the one-year time frame are not eligible. Self-published books are eligible, provided the author/publisher is willing to meet the requirements as listed below.

2. Three copies of each book must be submitted, along with an application form for each title, and a nonrefundable $65 entry fee for each title by Monday, April 2, 2012 to:Thurber Prize/ Thurber House / 77 Jefferson Ave. / Columbus, Ohio 43215.

3. Books must be primarily written rather than pictorial. Incidental visual material is acceptable.

4. eBooks of fiction, nonfiction, collections of short stories, and collaborations by writing teams also are eligible. eBooks that were published simultaneously or previously in printed form are not eligible. If an eBook and its printed form are both published during the eligibility time frame, the printed book may be submitted using the general guidelines. Submissions of eBooks must include information on where the book is available, three disc/CD copies of each book submitted, and three printed and bound, 81/2 x 11 inch copies of each book submitted, including publication date information.

5. Authors must have proof of U.S. citizenship.

6. Thurber House will make the final decision regarding all questions of eligibility.

Conditions of the Thurber Prize:

Eligible books for The Thurber Prize for American Humor will not be considered unless the publisher/author of the three f inalists agrees:

1. To send the finalist to the New York City event to read from the nominated book. If the book is a collaboration by a writing team, all authors must attend the event. If all members of the team cannot attend, they are disqualified and forfeit being a finalist (saving unforeseen circumstances). Publishers of the finalists must agree to pay for their author(s) transportation to and from New York and expenses while there.

2. Within one year of the announcement date, the winner must come to Thurber House for a special ticketed reading event in Columbus, Ohio. Thurber House will pay for expenses.


4. Sid Fleischmann Prize sponsored by the society of children’s book writers & illustrators (SCBWI), this one “is an award for authors whose work exemplifies the excellence of writing in the genre of humor. The SCBWI established the award to honor humorous work, so often overlooked in children’s literature by other award committees.”

1. Entrants must be members of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators.

2. Every book written by an SCBWI member (fiction, nonfiction, picture book) is eligible for consideration during the year of original publication. This award is for writers only.

3. Books submitted to the Golden Kite Award competition will NOT automatically be considered for the Sid Fleischman Humor Award. All Sid Fleischman Humor Award books should be sent as separate submissions.  Please send three (3) copies of your book to the address below:

Golden Kite Coordinator
SCBWI Sid Fleischman Humor Award
8271 Beverly Blvd.
Los Angeles, CA 90048

All submissions for the 2011 award must be RECEIVED no later than December 16th, 2011.

The Sid Fleischman Humor Award nominees will be given to separate panel of judges for further consideration. The winner of the Sid Fleischman Humor Award will be selected, and the author and his/her publishing house notified, in April, 2012.

The Sid Fleischman Humor Award is an award for authors whose work exemplifies superlative writing in the genre of humor. The SCBWI established the award to honor humorous work, so often overlooked in children’s literature by other award committees. This award is open to writers only.

Please note: books nominated for the Sid Fleischman Humor Award are still eligible to receive the Golden Kite Award but must additionally be submitted for that award as per the guidelines.

4. The nominated books will then be considered by a new, specially designated panel of judges, consisting of author SCBWI members who work in the humor genre.

5. The winner will be notified by April 30, 2012.

Are you out there? Hello? Anyone? (Thanks for reading! )

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s