Books I’ve never read….

I always like to see what people are reading, but sometimes it’s just as interesting to know what they HAVEN’T read. So, here’s a brief list of the books I feel like I SHOULD have read as an English/Spanish major, but somehow never did. Yes, there’s already guilt.

Grapes of Wrath– couldn’t do it. Watched the movie.

Moby Dick– Reading Billy Budd almost killed me. I couldn’t do it. Didn’t even read the cliffs notes.

The Sun Also Rises– just never sounded good. I’ve checked it out multiple times, wanted to read it, just never opened it.

To Kill a Mockingbird-I even took a Southern Lit class. Never had to read this, but at least I’ve started it…then life intervened before I hit that 50p. “I’m attached now- must finish” point.

100 Years of Solitude– I have tried. In English AND in Spanish. The people named after each other get me every time. I get confused, and then it’s over.

Don Quixote- I took a class that had DQ in the catalog description, and then we read modern Spanish fiction instead.

The Odyssey (thanks for the reminder…the list grows…again)

Anything by Jules Verne, or HG Wells. Any Tolstoy.

What are yours? Any plans to read them, or are you content in being out of the loop? Do you have any suggestions for me to add?

6 Comments on “Books I’ve never read….”

  1. Danielle says:

    Great idea for a post! I’ll have to think of some of my “shouldda but haven’t” books.

    I’m currently reading Moby Dick for a reading challenge and it is SOOO tough. I started it on Jan 1 and stopped at page 109…I haven’t picked it up in weeks!

    I read To Kill a Mockingbird in school, and while I don’t remember it very well, I do remember thinking it wasn’t a bad book. I plan to re-read it at some point. I know many people who enjoy the book immensely (a mentor of mine who is a psychology professor claims this as her favorite book of all time).

  2. tinalynne says:

    I haven’t read The Odyssey, either! And I feel really out of the loop, because it’s on almost all the required reading lists for schools in the local district. And, to make things worse, it’s not on my priority list, either. For right now, I’m focusing on more modern classics, but if I get around to it, I’ll definitely pick one up.
    And I JUST bought The Sun Also Rises, because in my opinion, no good Hemmingway book should go unread! 🙂

  3. deskquixote says:

    As a fellow English major, I can attest to this list of books as something that haunts all of us. There are a few here that I have read for one reason or the other, but I find that what Twain said, as usual, holds true: “A classic is something that everybody wants to have read and nobody wants to read.” Not all can truly be considered ‘classics’ but you get the idea.

    My list of “haven’t reads” involves anything Hemmingway and a lot of The Great Writers. I definitely understand how things could just not seem to be that interesting.

    Hamlet is awesome. Moby Dick was worth it, but slow.

    You’ve also got to factor in the books that you HAVE read but don’t remember anything about – To Kill A Mockingbird is one of those for me. I read it in high school, but other than Boo Radley and that tree, I have no clue what it is about.

  4. I can’t think of any “books I should have read” off the top of my head, but I can think of a few I shouldn’t have had to read SOOO many times. I think I read Hamlet four times, for four different classes. Oh, and the Odyssey. The freakin’ “wine dark sea” is the only phrase I took away from that one, because it makes no sense. The sea isn’t red.

    I liked Of Mice and Men better than Grapes of Wrath, so maybe you aren’t missing anything.

    Maybe Moby Dick is one I should have read, actually. I’m always missing references because I didn’t read it.


Are you out there? Hello? Anyone? (Thanks for reading! )

