Queen of the Damned, Indeed.

Ok- again, not an award post, but Anne Rice is back. With over 100 million of her novels sold, she’s still writing. She’s done Vampires. She’s done Witches. She’s done Angels.  She’s even taken on the life of Christ. Now it’s Werewolves.  

I never read the Witches, Angels, or Christ series. But the original Vampire chronicles made a huge impression on my high-school self. Wow. I will never forgive Hollywood for casting a short, brunette actor as Lestat. No amount of camera angles could fix that error.  Since then, I’ve been a sucker for just about any book with vampires, but hers is the standard against which they are  measured.

Anyway, the world of vegetarian, harmless vampires is not the world Anne writes about. Her vampires are wickedly intelligent, powerful, and deadly. There may be remorse or self-loathing, but above all, they are NOT human. They do not sparkle. They burn, they kill, and they survive.

Along the way, Mrs. Rice has been nominated for:

World Fantasy Best Novel nominee (1986) : The Vampire Lestat
Bram Stoker Best Novel nominee (1989) : The Queen of the Damned

She won:

Anne Rice’s Angel Time: The Songs of the Seraphim was given an award of merit by Christianity Today in their 2010 book awards.

(irony much?)

And she has spent time at the #1 spot on the NY Times bestseller list for:

Memnoch the Devil by Anne Rice (Knopf) – July 30, 1995

The Queen of the Damned by Anne Rice (Knopf) – October 30, 1988

Servant of the Bones by Anne Rice (Knopf) – August 25, 1996

The Tale of the Body Thief by Anne Rice (Knopf) – October 25, 1992

Taltos by Anne Rice (Knopf) – October 16, 1994

 

4 Comments on “Queen of the Damned, Indeed.”

  1. tinalynne says:

    Ooh, I also loved her vampire books in high school. But I’m sorry to say that I sort of went in different literary directions afterward and haven’t read any of her newer paranormal stuff. Maybe I’ll give some of the new stuff a try!
    I agree, though, the sparkly vampires are a far cry from Rice’s originals.

  2. Danielle says:

    My mom really liked the Vampire series too. I’ve always meant to borrow them from her. I tend to enjoy these fantasy-type books and I probably got it from my mom. I think I should call her tomorrow and ask about the Anne Rice books… 🙂


Are you out there? Hello? Anyone? (Thanks for reading! )

