Poetry awards

Disclaimer: There are TONS of awards for poetry. I just chose a few that are awarded for book-length publications.

1. William Carlos Williams Award– Awarded by the Poetry Society of America this award is:

Endowed by the family and friends of Geraldine Clinton Little, a poet and author of short stories and former vice-president of the PSA, for a book of poetry written by a single author who is a permanent resident of the United States. The book must be published by a small press, non-profit, or university press in a standard edition in 2011. Translations are ineligible, as are chapbooks.

2. The Lenore Marshall Award- This one is run by the Academy of American Poets.

In 1994, the Academy was selected by the New Hope Foundation to administer the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize. Established in 1975, this $25,000 award recognizes the most outstanding book of poetry published in the United States in the previous year. Past recipients include Philip Levine, Sterling A. Brown, Adrienne Rich, Thom Gunn, W. S. Merwin, Marilyn Hacker, and Charles Wright. Submissions are accepted each year from March 15 to May 15.

The Judges for 2012 are Linda Gregerson, David St. John, Natasha Trethewey.

The Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize honors the memory of Lenore Marshall (1897-1971), a poet, novelist, essayist, and political activist. She was the author of three novels, three books of poetry, a collection of short stories, and selections from her notebooks. Her work appeared in such distinguished literary magazines as The New Yorker, The Saturday Review, and Partisan Review. In 1956 she helped found the National Committee for a Sane Nuclear Policy, the citizens’ organization that lobbied successfully for passage of the 1963 partial nuclear test ban treaty.

 3. Walt Whitman Award – also by the Academy of American Poets,

The Walt Whitman Award brings first-book publication, a cash prize of $5,000, and a one-month residency at the Vermont Studio Center to an American who has never before published a book of poetry. The winning manuscript, chosen by an eminent poet, is published by Louisiana State University Press. The Academy purchases copies of the book for distribution to its members.

The award was established in 1975 to encourage the work of emerging poets and to enable the publication of a poet’s first book. Submissions for this year’s contest will be accepted between September 15 and December 1. An entry form and fee are required. The judge for the 2012 award is Jane Hirshfield.

4. Maurice English Award– By the Philadelphia Art Alliance

The Maurice English Award for Poetry was reinstated in the year 2000. It will be presented to an author in his or her sixth (fifty or beyond) decade of life for a distinguished book of poems published during the preceding calendar year. It responds to the fact that a body of work by Maurice English did not appear in book form until his 55th year. The Maurice English Poetry Award carries an honorarium of $3,000.00 and a request for apublic reading in Philadelphia. It is given in tribute to his work by his family.

 5. Agnes Lynch Starrett Award

The University of Pittsburgh Press announces the Agnes Lynch Starrett Poetry Prize for a first full-length book of poems. Named after the first director of the Press, the prize carries a cash award of $5,000 and publication by the University of Pittsburgh Press in the Pitt Poetry Series under its standard royalty contract. The winner will be announced in the fall; no information about the winner will be released before the fall announcement. The Starrett Prize is our only venue for first-book poetry manuscripts.

The volume of manuscripts received prevents the Press from offering critiques or entering into correspondence about manuscripts other than the one chosen for publication.

Manuscripts submitted to the contest will not be returned. Please keep a copy of the manuscript.

Past Winners of the Agnes Lynch Starret Poetry Prize


The award is open to any poet writing in English who has not had a full-length book of poetry published previously.  We define “full-length book” as a volume of 48 or more pages published in an edition of 750 or more copies. Books whose publication costs have been borne by their authors are excluded from this definition. University of Pittsburgh employees, former employees, current students, and those who have been students within the last three years are not eligible for the award.


Are you out there? Hello? Anyone? (Thanks for reading! )

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s