What I’ve been reading…(Suggestions?)

I wish I had this wall. Seriously. Since the first of the year, life has been, well, hectic. Reading has been a much needed escape. It’s always been my drug of choice. When things really get bad, I’m apt to forget/ignore/shove under the rug many tasks that I shouldn’t avoid (like laundry, unpacking, balancing the checkbook, grading papers, communicating with actual people). We’re not there yet, but I’m past book 20 for the year. For those counting, we are 61 days into the year. Not counting the magazines, blogs, and news-sites I read daily.

I DO enjoy re-reading. (and as I unpack, I keep seeing books I haven’t seen since they were put in a box sometime last year….) The general rule of thumb is that if I can’t remember how it ends, or how it got there, or why X was the bad guy/hero/snot it’s eligible to be read again. It’s like watching re-runs of your favorite show, or a movie for the 9,000th time. There’s something to notice, laugh or smile about.

Anyway, what are YOU reading? What’s on the TBR list? Bonus points if it’s something I can get from the school library where I work- one less errand to run. 🙂

5 Comments on “What I’ve been reading…(Suggestions?)”

  1. MaryC says:

    I second the recommendation for Room. And seeing plenty of Dana Stabenow on your list, I suggest The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey (sp?). One more: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. Would love to hear your opinion of the Games of Thrones books.

    Happy reading!

  2. By coincidence, I wrote on the same topic today. (Love discussing what people are reading–have found my favorite books that way.)

    Also, about re-reading: There’s an interesting discussion of that topic at
    http://literaryman.com/2012/02/28/at-what-age-do-you-start-re-reading-books/

    Anyway, your list looks bloody amazing–love the breadth–very eclectic!

  3. Geoff W says:

    Well I totally recommend the Song of Ice and Fire (Game of Thrones) Series, but they are not simple and are definitely a commitment. I’m about half way through the fourth book and they are doozy’s!

    The other books I recommend and you might find interesting are Room by Emma Donoghue (which is disturbing, but fascinatingly written) and Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha by Roddy Doyle. Both are told from the perspective of youth and were incredibly moving (Donoghue was influenced by Doyle) and the Irish lyricism I think comes out in both novels.


Are you out there? Hello? Anyone? (Thanks for reading! )

