Value book shopping….

One aspect of book awards is that it’s immediately eye-catching to see that shiny gold sticker, or “award-winning….” plastered across the front. I admit, I have been suckered into picking up a book with those accolades, only to wonder after reading it, “Why?”  IMHO, this makes the book less than a true “value.” (take that with a grain of salt, as I have rarely met a book I didn’t like (Billy Budd, I’m talking to you)). I’ve been pleased to find though, that most of the awards I’ve talked about have been earnest attempts to applaud merit and only a COUPLE have been blatant marketing schemes. 🙂

That said, I was recently stalking the iBook store while at work, and given my non-existent budget, was pondering which purchase to make: the next installment of a series, a “new” book/author, a beloved favorite I don’t actually own, one of the “$3.99 or less” books, a free book….the options were endless. 🙂 I love book shopping.

And then, I found myself narrowing things down by doing quick math to see how much the book was per “page” on the theory that if I can only buy ONE,  by golly it needs to last a while.  (I love long books, especially when I’m at work and can’t raid the bookshelf as soon as I finish.) When I caught myself doing this I laughed. Book purchasing on par with examining the supersize price vs. two smaller packages at the grocery, squinting at the price per item/oz label fine print?!?!?!

So that leads me to my next questions for you:

and

Discuss at will. I’m off book shopping.

One Comment on “Value book shopping….”

  1. Geoff W says:

    For me it’s definitely content and price. I’ll go out of my way to get a copy of a Booker Prize Winning (or even short listed) novel, but I won’t pay out the wazoo for them. I rarely spend more than $10 on a book. If I do it’s because I have a gift card. I’d rather check it out from the library first and if I decide I desperately have to have a copy (which actually hasn’t happened recently) then I try and find a good used copy.


Are you out there? Hello? Anyone? (Thanks for reading! )

